Just Love

As a child, I loved the people around me. Friends, family, my brothers, I loved them all. And as far as I could tell, they loved me. As far as I know, they still love me and I still love them and many others.

When I was a senior in high school, I went back and forth teaching FCA (a bible group) with a friend of mine. Even though it wasn’t my scheduled day, the last meeting of the year was mine to teach, and I actually still have the notes that I took down in preparation for what was my “last” lesson to my peers. I remember that the last, ending bit of what I tried to get across to my friends was to love. To love each other and their parents and teachers and enemies and themselves and just to love, because it is the most important thing in the world to love.

lin-manuel_quoteThree years later, I watched the Tony awards and saw one of my favorite creative people, Lin-Manuel Miranda, beg for the same thing, in his sonnet/speech. I cannot describe how important this simple concept is to me and to you, because everyone loves something, be it a boy or girl or friend or sibling or parent or pet or gay or straight or somewhere between all of these things.

Three years later, I had the first real chance to fall deeply and madly in love with another human being and lose myself in the process, only to have it handed back to me in such a painful manner after four months. Even after hurt and confusion I still love him, not in a romantic way, but in the fact that he is a magnificent human being, and I can’t deny him that, even if he doesn’t want me in the way that he once did.

In this post-election time, I know that so many people are hurting and scared and I can’t say that what they are feeling is or isn’t right, but I do know that they are allowed to feel these things. We are all human. I do not want to support or oppose any political candidate because of the fact that I can see good and bad on all sides and I have friends and family with so many different beliefs and stances and feelings. 4908b0fb8ce033f3df77023eef0fcc21

All I want to do in this time is to beg people to love. Because love is greater and conquers all of our differences and disagreements. Love does not kill or hurt. Please, in this time of disagreement and turmoil and upset, love one another. Left or right or black or white or whatever. I’m so sick and tired of seeing people hate each other and I know that this plea is just a shout into the dark void of the internet and its unlikely that I can reach anyone, but if enough people shout and live in a manner that is love, that shows love, maybe, just maybe, we can turn this around.

-Lizzy

 

Leave a Reply

