Oils Give Me Hope

I don’t know if all of my friends and family know this yet, but I am a distributor for Young Living essential oils. But it’s more than some Mary Kay, Scents, Jamberry money-making plan. Not any offense to those people of course, because I’ve been in the same situation, using the same marketing tactics before and theres nothing wrong about it. And I feel like that needs clarification.

Back in July, I went through a really tough breakup. I say really tough, because it was the first one from a serious relationship and it tore me to pieces. Based on my family history and just who I am as a person, I am very much predisposed to depression and anxiety issues. I don’t want to make any self-diagnosing claims, but if nothing else, it was a period of serious grieving that I went through.

It was during this time that my parents were having some major health issues and my mother turned to Young Living oils to help with some symptoms and issues of her own. When it started out, I was very skeptical. This isn’t unusual, I try not to take anything miraculous without a grain of salt. But the more research she did, the more it intrigued me and the more I believed in what these little bottles of plant essences could do.

I started using my mother’s bottles of Panaway, Lavender, Peppermint, and Digize to assist with little ailments here and there. I diffused things when I was home alone. Even if they didn’t always immediately make me feel amazing, it was nice to have something to occupy a bit of my time. One of my biggest issues is worrying and thinking too much, and when I was using the oils or researching them, I wasn’t stuck alone inside my brain. If I was freaking out, Stress Away might not have cured my anxiety, but it gave me something else to focus on and made me think about taking deep breaths.

I think it was around the beginning of August that I actually purchased my kit, which was a leap of faith. Almost $200 is a lot of money for a college kid working part time and trying to save for an apartment. I remember counting the weeks until I’d be able to spend that money with no regrets. I waited very impatiently for it to arrive. From the moment I opened the box (and filmed it, because YouTube is life…), I was finding ways to use the oils. And even now, I use them at work and home. I’m constantly finding new uses to share with friends and family in hopes of helping them live happier, healthier lives.

I love the oils and the organization because they make me feel good and help distract me from unhappy things. And yes, I have the potential to make a bit of money on occasion if one of you buys an oil. But more so, I get excited that I can share something that I love with people I love. If that ends up helping pay for my education or housing, I won’t fight it!
Just know that if I offer you a sample or hand you an info card or leave a recommendation on your Facebook post, I’m not doing it to take your money. I’m doing it because I love you and I want you to be happy and healthy.

-Lizzy 

YL distributor #10042671

Leave a Reply

