Every Day I’m Hustlin’

hus·tle

    ˈhəsəl/

    verb

      1

      .

      force (someone) to move hurriedly or unceremoniously in a specified direction.

        2.

        NORTH AMERICAN

        informal

        obtain by forceful action or persuasion.

          This morning, I came across a post that had been shared on Facebook that just hit right where it needed to in the motivational area. I couldn’t help but share it to my wall, because it made me mentally say “Damn straight”.

          As someone who is currently 21 years old, working part time, and searching for ways to improve myself and my future on the side until I get moved up to full time at work, I can totally relate.

          I have so many dreams right now that I can’t help but work for. I want to go back to college and finish my bachelor’s degree. I want to move out on my own (see the countdown at the bottom of the blog…) as soon as possible. I want to pay off my car and not have a ton of student loans forever. I want to find a man that will respect me and cherish me for years to come. And I’ll be damned if I’m not working for all of these things right now.

          When I graduated from high school, I thought I had my life all planned out. I would go to a 4 year school immediately and life would go perfectly from there. But there are days I look at my friends and feel like I have fallen behind somehow. It’s days like that that I have to examine all that I’ve done in the past 3 years and remind myself of how far I’ve come. 

          1 associates degree

          1 drivers license

          1 new car

          1 boyfriend (and now 1 ex)

          4 theatrical performances

          Innumerable friends

          5 jobs (if I count Jamberry, Young Living, and Princess for hire)

          AND SO MANY EXPERIENCES!

          I just wanted to get this post out there today to remind all of the 20-somethings out there that we are NOT just what our parents or grandparents or friends see us as! It doesn’t matter what you’re working on, as long as you’re working on it. You keep hustling, and it will pay off in God’s time. I know that it can feel like a time of stasis so often in life, but keep grinding and don’t give up, because someday we’ll be there too with the house and kids and degree and dream job. No one is just going to give it to you, so keep working. Make goals and find a way to get there. Let this bee your Friday morning motivation. Now get out there and get stuff done, lovelies!

          Lots of love and encouragement.

          -Lizzy

          Leave a Reply

          